The results of NTOA’s election for Regional Directors are in! The winners for three-year terms, beginning in January 2018, are:

Eastern Region:
Incumbent Director Jason Behun ran uncontested in the Eastern Region. Det. Behun has 23 years of law enforcement experience. He currently works for the Cape Coral (FL) PD assigned to the training unit, and also serves as the department’s SWAT team leader.


Central Region:
Incumbent Director Bart Branyon ran uncontested in the Central Region.Chief Branyon currently serves as Chief Enforcement Officer (Alcoholic Beverage Control) for the Kansas Dept. of Revenue. He is a 21-year veteran of the Olathe (KS) PD, having served 18 years with the Tactical Support Unit. Branyon is a U.S. Department of Defense and U.S. Department of State subject matter expert in counter-terrorism operations.

Western Region:
Incumbent Director Dan Murphy won the election in the Western Region. Lt. Murphy is a 33-year veteran of law enforcement and serves with Fort Collins (CO) Police Services. He is currently in the Professional Standards Unit in charge of agency training, hiring and internal affairs, in addition to being the SWAT commander.